Kizuna 3 – Remembering the Great East Earthquake of Japan on 3/11

Again this year, the Twin Cities Japanese American community will remember the earthquake, tsunami, and nuclear devastation at Fukushima on its third anniversary. JASM, JETAAMN, SPNSCC will host a memorial event and fundraiser on March 11th. The program will begin at 6:30 pm near the JASM office in Riverplace, 43 SE Main Street, Minneapolis, MN 55414. A photo exhibition of the Tohoku region will open before the program at 6:00 pm.

The event will feature a poetry reading, singing from Mumin Choir, and a moment of silence and reflection for the victims. To recognize and highlight the continued need for reconstruction in the region, we will be encouraging donations to Playground of Hope, a Japanese non-profit that aims to restore the “social fabric” of disaster-affected and or economically challenged communities through the power of play. They have successfully built over 20 community play spaces in the Tohoku.

We will also be encouraging donations to the Taylor Anderson Memorial Foundation, organized by the Japan Exchange and Teaching Program Alumni Association (JETAA) USA, for a 24 hour donation drive that starts when the clock strikes midnight in Japan on March 11. GlobalGiving has offered to match the total donation amount. Taylor Anderson was a JET Program participant and was the first confirmed American that died in the Tsunami. The main purposes of the Fund are to help students, schools and families in the Ishinomaki area recover from the earthquake and tsunami as Taylor’s family expects Taylor would have wanted, and to pursue Taylor’s dream of being a bridge between the U.S. and Japan.

If you would like to give to this Memorial Fund but cannot make it to the event on 3/11, here is the online information:

Online donation drive

Donation website:

http://www.globalgiving.org/fundraisers/jets-rally-for-tohoku

Starts: 12:00 midnight Japan time on 3/11 (11 a.m. EST on March 10; 8 a.m. PST, etc.)

Ends: 11:59 p.m. Japan time on 3/11 (10:59 a.m. EST on March 11)